Primary Stability: Hull Shape or Beam Width?

BigBird

Hello!  It's been some time since I've visited here, but the sea is calling me again.  I have an issue with feeling stable in a kayak in the ocean.  I know much of this is me and not the boat.  However, in some boats, I feel the level of stability I crave, while in others I feel like I will tip over at any moment.

The NDK Explorer (21.5" beam) is legendary for it's stability (as I've read) yet I could never feel comfortable in that boat.  The slightest lean the wrong way and I was doing a half roll.  I'm a rookie so I never figured out how to properly brace or get to the pool sessions to learn how to roll.  I surmise that if I knew how to brace and roll, my fear would go away?  Needless to say, after a harrowing experience in a storm on the Maine Coast, I sold that boat 2 summers ago.

I still have a Lincoln Chebeague which is a total joy to paddle.  High level of primary stability and secondary, but a bit short for longer ocean paddles at speed.  The beam on this boat is 24".

I demo'd a series of P&H boats after I sold the NDK and the boat I loved was the P&H Scorpio HV with a 24" beam.  Felt rock solid stable while the MV felt less so (narrower beam).

I've heard people say on this forum that beam width doesn't determine stability, but rather hull shape does?  If this is true, then what hull shape am I looking for that will give me confidence inspiring primary stability with solid secondary to allow me to learn and grow with the boat without putting the fear of God in me out in the ocean?