CAM Discussion #1: Radios

rfolster

I would like to start by thanking Leon for a “lesson learned” that he offered to share with us on a recent trip report. Luckily it ended up as a non-event, but I was inspired to evaluate the Common Adventure Model (CAM) and how it is approached by the NSPN membership. After toiling with what felt like a short novel for the last hour or so in an attempt to cover all the thoughts swimming in my skull, I decided to take another route and look at some key elements of the CAM system. In this installment, I wanted to discuss communication as a general topic, but even that was still too broad and would spiral in too many directions. Therefore, I will limit this discussion just to the usage of VHF radios, and will address other issues in separate posts.

As a brand new owner of a VHF radio, let me say that I am not an expert or a know-it-all, but only want to bring the discussion into greater focus and determine, if possible, what is the most appropriate usage for this piece of equipment. I am not looking for a discussion about the different models of radios, or the USCG requirements for what type of boats are and are not required to utilize them, but merely to discuss whether or not NSPN members should be caring and using their radios. Many of us own them, but there is a wide variety of usage that ranges from constant to never.

My observations lead me to think that some people may consider when they will want to use their radios, and not when they will need to use them? In light of some recent discussions of whether or not you should actually wear one or keep it in a hatch, I would like to compare it to a tow belt. I am curious to know if there anyone out there who owns a tow belt that does not wear it but keeps it in a hatch? Let's not get off topic with this one - tow belts can/will be another discussion thread.