advice

Bob Maselek

Dear folks: Remember when you first started kayaking? I just joined and paid my dues. I am a complete novice with basically no knowledge of anything I need to know. I am reading a lot of kayaking books, but need to know how to start:

1-should I sign up for outdoor Charles River kayak lessons as soon as I can? Or, are there other lessons I should take?

2-what model boat (beginner??) should I start looking to buy?

3-should I attend NSPN pool sessions?

4-is it OK to ask if someone from NSPN would mentor me (just some advice once in a while)?

I am retired with some time on my hands and a desire to ultimately paddle around the Maine Island trail area. I am the type that wants to learn to do this properly so I have some fun and can be safe at the same time. I want to learn all the sea kayaking skills both mental and physical.

So, how do I start?/ THANKS IN ADVANCE// Bob

1-I'm gonna pass on lessons, as I have taken few and I'm the sort that convinces seasoned instructors to join the Peace Corps

2-You should consider a moderate investment in a boat, i.e. not a cheap boat but also not something really expensive as it almost certainly won't suit you well and/or will be followed by purchases that suit your surfing, day-tripping, expeditioning, etc. A plastic boat tends to cost less and a glass boat tends to resell better.

3-Pool sessions are a mixed bag. Alot of the benefit tends to come from honing specific skills, though the right person might teach you proper bracing, entry/re-entry, etc. The pool just isn't anyplace to learn to paddle, i.e. you can't go very far.

4-You should feel free to seek advice from this and other boards, read, view videos, or do whatever works best for you to learn.