Surfing question

Gcosloy

I'm new to the surfing game and would like some advise or an opinion. Surfing at the bowl at Seabrook last evening I dumped or wiped out several times all under similar circumstances. When I catch a wave or a wave catches me and I turn off the wave before it breaks there is no problem. If I extend the ride while the wave breaks and try to turn off the white stuff sometimes I'm quickly hit beam side by the next breaker. As I try to low brace and edge into the stuff, if its 3 feet high my low brace seems awkward and I never get a chance to edge into it much; the result being an abrupt capsize. If the second breaker is a bit lower I can usually save it with the low brace and quickly bracing on the other side after the white stuff gets under me. Should I be high bracing under these situations or doing something else? I don't know whether this is an issue peculiar to the bowl where the wave periods are rather short and because of the contour of the bottom, waves can break in one area and then reform to roll again. If this is simply the price of surfing then so be it, but I'd like to learn from my experience and would welcome some words of wisdom from others in the sport.