Need advice...Looking to buy new paddle

There are many blades that are touring sized. To me that means mid size and easy on the shoulders. Others can comment on them as I have been using the same Lendal Norkapp for +15 years. 

Proper length is as important as blade size.  I like a high style vertical stroke. In at the feet out at the hips. Paddle blade closer to the hull. Asymmetrical blade.  

Low "touring" strokes often are arm paddlers and are tiring after 4 miles and always catching up to the group.

How long is yours now? Proper paddle length varies by torso height and height of seat. Most sea kayakers seem to fall between 220 cm and 210. I went back up to 220 and found it much better to get a proper catch with the correct body position. 

Can you try some around 215 cm?

My editor just came in and said stop....

As an alternative view, for touring a Greenland paddle is a great choice.  Wooden ones are relatively gentle on the joints and there are some good makers around who will spend time to be sure the paddle is customized to your physical and paddling characteristics. 

It will not work as well in very shallow water, will not have the sudden power or the bracing support of a EP.

On the other hand it is very adaptable in that you can use it as a high angle wing paddle when you want to move along or as a low angle paddle when headed into the wind, you are tired, or you just want to move about and see stuff.  No need to worry about high angle, low angle, feather angle; just use for your purpose.

Some say it is easier to roll with a GP, but I believe it is easier to roll with an EP if your form is correct.  However, a GP is more forgiving when rolling in my opinion so it is very reliable when the chips are down and you are not at your best.

It does scull incredibly well and that can be very handy.

Ed Lawson