Paddle Length

rfolster

How important is paddle length really? I mean, does 5cm really make a difference? I have been paddling with a 215cm for almost two years and just noticed that Werner suggests a 210cm for my height and boat width.

One other thing is that I have a tendency to tap the boat when putting the blade in at the beginning of my forward stroke. The scuff marks are building up and I hope they will buff out, but the real question is if a shorter blade will change this or do I need to work on my stroke more?

Rob,

A shorter paddle will reduce swing weight however paddle length is a personal issue. If your stroke is more relaxed and not a high angle a longer paddle may be preferable. Werner suggests a 210 for me but even though I paddle high angle I use a 215. Werner unfortunately does not ask for the length of arms which can make a difference or whether your height is distributed more towards your torso vs. legs. If you can comfortably bury the blade without much effort at the start of the stroke but not more than a smidgen of the shaft you're paddling with the right length.

Edited by GCosloy

Rob,

For what it is worth, I started paddling with two 215cm paddles. Before long I was told to switch out to 210cm. Not knowing any better, I bought two new 210cm paddles. I continue to paddle with 210cm and seem to like the length. Would I have enjoyed the 215 cm as well, perhaps. I guess you should use whatever paddle works for you. I now have two almost new 215cm paddles in my basement collecting dust!

I was also tapping the hull on the entry phase of my forward stroke. Seems I was not keeping my arms straight enough at the time. I was bending the elbows and causing the blade to move too close to the hull. I altered that approach and the tapping has disappeared. For me the tapping was not related to the paddle length.