Fiberglass repair advice needed

bazzert

Hi Folks,

I got back from a paddle in NH yesterday to find about a gallon of water in my stern hatch. At home I discovered a couple of soft spots on the keel and dug out the rotten glass. The result is two holes on the keel back behind the skeg box. I cant even (with my long arms!) reach these spots from the inside. How would you go about repairing this ? I have some experience with repairing a simpler hole.

Picture here.

Really appreciate your help,

thanks,

Barry.

Hi Folks,

I got back from a paddle in NH yesterday to find about a gallon of water in my stern hatch. At home I discovered a couple of soft spots on the keel and dug out the rotten glass. The result is two holes on the keel back behind the skeg box. I cant even (with my long arms!) reach these spots from the inside. How would you go about repairing this ? I have some experience with repairing a simpler hole.

Picture here.

thanks,

Barry.

Ouch! Barry. This would be a good time to put a keel strip on. Lincoln Canoe & Kayak in Freeport ME did the one you see on my boat. You must have followed the wrong person through that rock garden, LOL.

I don't think I can repair my paddle damage from yesterday. $$$

Doug

post-100651-0-23086900-1294017713_thumb.

post-100651-0-36231100-1294017727_thumb.

Wow, those are beauts! But didn't we have fun in those rocks!

Maybe this would be the ideal time to add a keel strip. I had mine installed where I bought my Nordkapp, and despite the lousy job they did with the finish, I'm thankful every time I scrape hard over rocks. It provides great peace of mind. You might want to talk to Brad Gwynn about this option.