Options for replacing a kayak seat?

hopefloats

It's been determined that I sit very high in my boat and that it's possible I'll be more comfortable manueuvering (and minimize lower back pain too) if I change the seat.

I've heard that Tom Berg will customize a seat for you... I've also heard that you can build your own out of foam, and I also believe you can buy replacement seats altogether...

I'm thinking that because I'm a newbie, and I know very little about customizing a boat's fit, that maybe I should suck up the cost of having someone more experienced customize it for me...

Any thoughts or recommendations?

Heidi,

The Valley pre-formed foam seats are really comfy and a sinch to install. I believe Joel has them in stock at NESC. You <can> easily make your own; but this is one fast, satisfactory answer to your problem. Your backside will be about an inch off the hull. I have one in the Skerray and like it a lot.

(Have been meaning to return your call -- you may call me at work now if you like: (978)282.1550)

CG

It's been determined that I sit very high in my boat and that it's possible I'll be more comfortable manueuvering (and minimize lower back pain too) if I change the seat.

I've heard that Tom Berg will customize a seat for you... I've also heard that you can build your own out of foam, and I also believe you can buy replacement seats altogether...

I'm thinking that because I'm a newbie, and I know very little about customizing a boat's fit, that maybe I should suck up the cost of having someone more experienced customize it for me...

Tom rarely does seats for people and not for boats other than NDK.

Easy to make your own - Brian Nystrom has directions that are simple and easy to follow. I did it my first year kayaking so know you can.

BUT you can buy an NDK seat for about $90 - not sure who is stocking them currently but you may want to call Tom and see if you can buy one.

Suz

heidi -