Practice at Walden Pond

Gcosloy

I'd be up for practice at Walden Pond, but can usually only make it on weekends-rarely can I sneak out of work early enough to get on the water. I'm new to kayaking, but took Karen Knight's kayaking class a couple of weeks ago in which we learned some rescue techniques and would welcome the opportunity to practice them if you don't mind working with a beginner.

Anyone interested in having practice sessions at Walden Pond like those that occur at Mystic Lake and Lake Chebacco? I work in Cambridge, but live near Walden Pond and can't take my boat to work so it's virtually impossible for me to make the Mystic/Chebacco practice sessions.

Renee

I might be interested in practicing at Walden Pond if a group can get together. I haven't been able to get to the Tues or Thurs sessions because of distance and the time I get out of work. Walden Pond is still about an hour away, but closer than the other lakes.

I often go on Wednesdays and Fridays if weather is suitable. The general atmosphere at Walden is that people help one another but that there's no structured classes. If I'm there I'd be willing to help anyone with the roll he/she's working on. And I am grateful for help with my rolls. I use a Greenland paddle for my seakayak but also paddle whitewater with a Euroblade so I can help with either.

Not sure about tomorrow (6/28) as t-storms are predicted, but if they hold off I plan to go. You are welcome to email me to find out if I'll be there on any given day. But generally if the weather is good Wed and Fri are the days I get wet.

Kate

Hey Gene, I was planning on going this week but work has gotten in the way of my fun again :) I work only a couple miles from Walden though and definitely plan on going at least once next week . . . maybe next Thursday weather permitting if you're up for it . . . Kate and I had discussed some practice there as well . . . Tonight is the Mystic practice if you're up for that!