Greenland Paddle

bduplisea

OK. I have been doing my own research on greenland paddles. I now have more questions than answers. I guess my research skills are lacking! I am eager to purchase one but really still have many questions. Any ideas how to begin to get serious on my personal goal of buying a greenland paddle. I have been paddling for many years. My brace is strong. I drive a valley avocet (plastic). I am about 5' 6". Anyone got one I can borrow? Anyone interested in meeting me at Walden so I can try it out with and get some tips from an experienced greenland paddler? Let me know. I would love the help. Thanks so much for considering this.

Brian, you are certainly a "blast from the past! I'm not sure that others here know that you were involved in running the Walden sessions back in the late '90's. Your generous assistance was instrumental in many people learning to paddle, myself included.

I'm glad to hear of your interest in Greenland paddles (GPs) and I suggest that your first stop online should be QajaqUSA.org, which is the best source for Greenland paddling information online. Their "Greenland Kayaking Forum" is an excellent resource for the type of information you seek. http://www.qajaqusa.org/cgi-bin/GreenlandTechniqueForum_config.pl

They also have Technique and Gear sections with all kinds of information on buying, building and using GPs.

There is also a local group of Greenland paddlng enthusiast that refers to themselves as the "Walden Pond Scum", since that's where they hold many of their practice sessions and clinics. I can't find their website, but you can probably hook up with some of them through the Greenland Kayaking Forum.

There are some of our NSPN contemporaries who are GP enthusiasts, such as Keith Attenborough, John Raleigh and Adam Bolonsky. As far as I know, they are all still paddling.