The ICOM M72 VHF is a great handheld, but ….

leong

Yeah, yeah, I know, many of you think the ICOM M72 is the best handheld VHF. Heck, I’ve been using this model for about 6 years. I think that it’s a great VHF too, except for the following two complaints.

1. The volume/on-off knob progressively gets stiffer and stiffer to turn and it eventually freezes. Yes, I use it almost everyday all year long without putting it in a vhf drybag (I want it ready for use and I want nothing between me and the controls and speaker/microphone). But it usually doesn’t get wet unless I’m out in heavy conditions. I put it inside a drybag for practice rolls. I do wash it in the sink after each use. After it gets very stiff I soak the control in a product called “Salt-Off” which helps, but the stiffness returns in a few weeks.

Anyone else have this problem?