Looking for newbie advice

Hey all I am a total newbie to kayaking, never been before. I first got interested in it when I was out with my boat and saw people kayaking around. Thought it looked relaxing and started to look at kayaks to see what I would like.

A little info on me I am 6'2'' and about 270ish. I would like to kayak on rivers such as the Merrimac, Charles, plum island and some smaller rivers and streams in the North Shore area and southern Maine. I do like to fish and am pretty big into photography. I will mostly just be paddling around enjoying the sights and sounds, maybe fishing once in a while and taking pictures.

Should I get a SOT or sit inside kayak? I have been looking at SOT's, specifically the Wilderness Systems Tarpon 140, I have sat in it and i find it very comfortable, haven't paddled it yet but am going to soon. Any one have any info on how these perform, are they pretty stable, would it be good for what I want to do with it, is that length a good length for my height and weight?

Once I get out on the water, where are good places to paddle in this area? (North Shore)

Any other advice you would like to give to a newbie?

Sorry for all the questions, thanks in advance!

14 feet sounds a little short to me. I would look into the line of the new sit on top fishing kayaks from what I read about your description of usage.

Sorry for all the questions, thanks in advance!

If fishing is your main interest, go see Joel at New England Small Craft on rt. 1 in Rowley. He will fix you up with the right boat. If you want a sea kayak for the ocean, my Gulfstream might fit you well. See the personal classified page or send me a message at eneumeier AT earthlink DOT net.

Liz

For sit-in glass boats which you will probably want soon anyway, I suggest the following.

Try them all before you buy...

Aquanaut HV by Valley

Assateague by Boreal Design

Xplore X by Tiderace

Cetus HV or possibly Cetus "Classic" by P&H

Gulfstream by Current Designs