Paddle Saturday after Thanksgiving (L3 or lower?)

billvoss

Hi All,

This is my first time trying to instigate an NSPN trip. So please pardon my lack of experience. This will be a CAM trip, as I'm definitely NOT qualified to lead a kayak trip. Please don't think I know what I am doing! Though even I know that a drysuit will be required for this paddle.

Because of my family constraints, this trip will occur on Saturday after Thanksgiving.

This will be a L3 or lower trip, expecting to cover say 10 to 15 miles.

BIB late morning, say around 10:30am.

I need the board's help in picking a location. Though I like minor bumps, I don't want this trip to be canceled because of weather. So something with at least a protected option would be preferred. Other than that, I'm willing to launch anywhere between Boston and Portsmouth.

So who wants to join me?

Even if you are not sure you can join me, do you have any suggestions on where we should go?

thanks,

Bill Voss

I am interested in paddling on Saturday, 11/27. NSPN used to have a tradition of a Post-Turkey Day paddle on the Friday after Thanksgiving. Should we try to revive it?

Somewhat like the Solstice, in reverse. Trips launch from different locations and meet up on Great Misery to share leftovers.

Level 2(+)(the + is for the crossing to Misery) from Manchester Harbor (3 options: Masconomo Point, behind the police station, Tuck's)

Level 3 from Beverly

Level 4 from Marblehead.

Here are a couple of old trip reports:

2001, the short report: http://www.nspn.org/forum/index.php?showtopic=2789&st=0&p=17872&hl=+post%20+turkey%20+day&fromsearch=1entry17872

2001, the report of the infamous rescue: http://www.nspn.org/forum/index.php?showtopic=2790&st=0&p=17871&hl=+post%20+turkey%20+day&fromsearch=1entry17871

2003 weather does not matter plus a reference to a new tradition that did not catch on: http://www.nspn.org/forum/index.php?showtopic=2894&st=0&p=17624&hl=+post%20+turkey%20+day&fromsearch=1entry17624

Liz