deliberate tire damage?

nancysan

With reluctance I start this topic. Apparently the popularity of paddling is making some locals of put-in spots less than thrilled. I guess I would stress that we as paddlers should know the rules and regulations of put-in areas we use and try to be respectful of swim beaches, etc.

That said, I had an unwelcome experience yesterday. I was once told last year, at Pavilion Beach in Ipswich, that I should not put in there, even though others were putting in before and after. I had been putting in there for six years, but since it was a holiday weekend, I decided to not talk back to the local telling me this. I also have lived in Ipswich for almost a decade, but not my whole life. I was told to go down to the left end by the clammer launch, AND to not paddle across the swim beach where the buoys designate swim area (the buoys are moved way out by the boat moorings this year). I have tried to follow these instructions since then, though it is not posted specifically. I believe it says no launching of boats on the beach... I'll read it again. I see people backing trailers over by the clam boat area during low tide.

Anyway, to get to the point: I had the valve of my tire tampered with and my tire went flat as I was loading my boat. This was on an uncrowded weekday morning, and coincidently (or not) the same person (who scolded me last year) was at the beach that day. (He's almost always there.) I try to avoid the crowded times, I am non-confrontational and respectful. I was told by my auto repair shop that I was not the first local kayaker to have had this happen at Pavilion this week. I am not happy that people resort to these tactics. I guess I see this is a problem that could potentially increase as the sport gains popularity.

Just letting people know my experience.

Nancy

:ph34r: