Just Joining

DeCourcy

Hi! I've just mailed my application to the club. I've watched this board for years and last week bought a new kayak. I've been paddling an old Rec boat for too many years and drooled over the beautiful boats you folks have been paddling. The Rec boat was like a 'barge' and I couldn't wait to ditch it. I watched a pool session at Lydon 2 years ago and was very impressed with the attitude and quality of the instruction generously donated by other members. Hope to meet you all. I'm in Beverly, so I'll probably get to Chebacco when those sessions start again.

I know there are some Impex boats in the club; does anyone have a Susquehanna like me?

Jim.

Hi Jim -

Welcome! I hope to see you on the water soon.

I believe the susquehana is the same boat as they used to call the diamante. If that is the case, there are a few of us in the club, but we mostly get harassed by the others because our hatches leak so badly. We do have a 12-step program, however, and we own the best drysacks. Great boats in following seas. Try tearing out the seat to make it really comfortable.

Cheers!

Jeff Casey

formula/impex diamante, red/white, (scratches, blisters, cracks, mis-drilled holes, lumpy patches)

tupperware capella, orange/dirt (& scratches & peachfuzz)

feathercraft kahuna (no personality yet)

Thanks Jeff. Yes, I know about the fiberglass hatches vs. VCP leakage concerns. (Impex (Formula) is changing these in 2004 for the Susquehanna/Diamante). Got a great deal on this one, so I couldn't wait and justify a newer model. I'm curious though. Looking at the hatch, and understanding that there's a right and wrong way to secure them; I can't understand how they can leak that much. Does this only happen while practicing roll after roll? Or, can it be that simply splashing waves somehow FORCE their way into/under/around the rubber seals? I know, I'm new at this! Help me understand please.

Thanks, Jim.

Welcome Jim,