Greenland Kayak construction

FPSIII

Hello,

I am new to this message board and I am inexperienced in Kayaking but am excited to learn.

I want to build a skin on frame Greenland Kayak this fall / winter and was wondering if anyone was planning on building one or in the process of building one now?

It would be interested in seeing whats involved and would be happy to help if it was welcome.

I can not afford a decent production boat right now and think building my own would be rewarding.

I have ordered (Harvey Goldens book as well as Edward Tappan & Chappelle's book) that I will be studying .

Thanks,

Frank

I believe Sing's Evil Twin and Brian Nystrom are likely the people who hang out here on occasion who know the most about building SOF boats. Brian has wriitten a nice book or making Grenland paddles. There are websites which have discussion boards of folks whose passion is building SOF and wood kayaks. Should find them with a Google search. I know nothing about building them.

Replicas build from Harvey's book are a breed apart as they were not designed for recreational use, but hunting on the waters of the builder's area and some traits that will bedevil a recreational paddler were virtues to a hunter. Which is why there are "generic" Greenland SOF building books around. That said I found many rewards dealing with the challenges of paddling a replica, I find it quite enjoyable on many levels, and it has made me a better paddler. It is hard to explain the pleasures of paddling a snug SOF you can easily lift with one hand.

There are many kayak designs and kits for wooden as opposed to SOF kayaks around and some are excellent boats.

As for Greenland paddles, I just started using one as a lark and somehow I ended up using it almost exclusively this year.

Now I am addicted I guess.

How tall are you and what do you weigh? I know of a replica for sale as a decent price.

If you want more info on websites and boats email me at elawson-at-grizzy-dot-com.