VHF review?

marvin

Marvin,

I checked the equipment review section of www.paddling.net and I did not see any VHF reviews.

However, there has been several helpful discussions on the p.net boards.

I have supplied some recent links below.

ICOM's M88, M72 and M34 have proven to be favorites with sea kayakers.

http://www.paddling.net/message/showThread...vice&tid=637491

http://www.paddling.net/message/showThread...vice&tid=627487

http://www.paddling.net/message/showThread...vice&tid=681205

I will point out that the review is by a powerboat, not paddling publication.

This doesn't necessarily make the review worthless, but there have been far more Standard Horizon radio failures documented on this board over the last several years and on padding.net than ICOM failures.

I have been paddling with an unbagged ICOM M88 for three years without any problems. I do periodically check the integrity of the battery compartment gasket and tightness of the antenna mount.

In fairness several NSPNer have indicated that they eventually had failures using unprotected ICOMs, but these numbers appear to be drawfed by Standard radio failures in similar usage conditions.

YMMV.

Everytime this discussion comes up, I am reminded of the similar debates I have heard among pick-up truck owners arguing over which is better, Chevy or Ford. Always someone ready to say neither they nor any of their friends ever had anything but bad luck with Chevies and the next says the same thing about Fords.

I was not a member then, but from what I have read, the rash of Standard failures stems from a group purchase of a specific model. So when it turned out to be a lemon, there were lots of failures to report.

You won't find good technical reviews of these radios, but you will find decent practical use type reviews from boating mags.