Membership

vincent

Hello all,

I am new to sea kayaking and looking to join a 2nd club. I have a sincere question about membership dues. Membership to NSPN is 2-3x versus the other area clubs (BSKC,RICKA,ConnYAk). I believe you get what you pay for, but I cannot find any obvious differences-e.g. 2-3x the trips or practive sessions-for a beginner. Thus, I turn to the members. I am not looking to start a "my club is better than that club" argument. I am just a tightwad looking to get value for my money.

Thanks in advance, Vin

or a troll?

well vincent, that's up for you to decide. what do you want out of a club? that's about what folks get out of a club. that may sound like a bs answer, but it's true.

there are skill sessions, trips and a host of experienced paddlers. only you can decide if you would like the community or be a part of it.

Vin:

The main reason for the difference in membership dues is the fact that NSPN has chosen to affiliate with the ACA (American Canoe Association) which provides additional benefits (such as a subscription to Paddler magazine and some discounts) and protections (mainly liability insurance for the club, officers and trip leaders). Someone on the board can give you the exact dollars, but I believe that most of the dues goes to ACA and not NSPN. If NSPN charged only the part we keep, our dues would be similar to other area clubs which have chosen not to affiliate.

I recently joined a club in the San Francisco area that is also ACA affiliated: the dues structure is similar ($35) and has the same difference in cost compared with non-ACA clubs in the Bay Area.