old kayak advice - considering a purchase

ghorner99

Hey NSPN folk - I'm a relative newcomer to your midst but hope to be more involved in the future. I figured this was a good group to ask for advice as i consider a decision about a new/used boat. I've been paddling an old Valley Skerray plastic boat for 15 years, and longing for a glass boat most of those.

Cost has been the barrier; even the used cost... especially since i don't paddle a lot. (kids, bikes, garden, house...oh and work too)

Neighbor offered to sell me an old (90's i think based on serial number starting in 94) Current Designs Solstice GT for $500 (i could offer 400). It needs some work for sure, but i can handle that and have a friend with fiberglass skills. (chalky, faded gelcoat; serious but small damage to bow at the tape line, lines mostly all shot)

My question here is: do i want this boat?

Pros: price / resale value / sturdy and fast glass boat. Gets me an upgrade to glass.

Cons: not very playful, hard to turn, likely hard to roll, and an old hull design. i'd rather be in a Tiderace or a Cetus mv or other. plus this is a project boat.

I know, it comes down to what kind of paddling i want to do and what i'm willing to spend. I'm unlikely to upgrade for a few more years if I don't get this boat. I do some surfing off Plum island via pavillion beach, some trips to Misery, some paddling in Maine, and we just did a 4-day trip with family to Saddleback cabin also - so hopefully more trips in the future.

Have hull designs really changed so much since then?

Thoughts on resale value if I fix it up and end up selling it?

any other guidance here?

THANKS in advance. Greg in Hamilton

Greg, welcome.