Thermoform: Love it? Hate it? Know about it?

Dabend

I am interested in getting people's opinions about the good and bad of a thermoform kayak. The material sounds like a great compromise between the sluggish (and heavy) rotomolded and the faster, lighter but more delicate and expensive composite.

Would love to know what others have experienced or heard.

thanks,

d

I am interested in getting people's opinions about the good and bad of a thermoform kayak. The material sounds like a great compromise between the sluggish (and heavy) rotomolded and the faster, lighter but more delicate and expensive composite.

Would love to know what others have experienced or heard.

thanks,

d

Hi David,

I worked in a shop that sold Hurricane & Eddy Line boats. I found that for the most part they were lighter than glass boats. We had one leave a trailer @ speed (no, I didn't tie that one). It landed on its stern leaving a few cracks & a missing chunk of about 1 square inch in size, the fix was relatively easy. If your buying new they are a great value. I have to say for the cost of a new one you could probably get a decent used glass boat & that would be my choice. On the other hand if your looking for a 'rock garden boat' to save your nice composite boat, then I would go for one of these instead of a roto-mold boat. Of course this is all based on finding one that has the paddling characteristics that your like. Well, their is my 2 cents ($3.50 w/ the coming inflation), Chuck

What makes you think that rotomolded boats are "sluggish" and composite boats are "delicate"? Neither one of these things is absolutely true. There are some well-made rotomolded boats that are good performers (P&H, Valley, etc.) and plenty of very rugged composite boats on the market.