Talon Side Loading Roof Rack by E-Z Load

Hi,

I'm looking for ways to load/unload my kayak myself. It's frustrating to always have to depend on someone else to help get it on/off the car. I saw this product and it looks like just the ticket. Has anyone used these or know anything about them? They are kinda pricey (like $399) so if anyone has other suggestions for ways to load/unload solo(I have yakima j-bars on a subaru outback), I'm open to ideas. Thanks!

Hi Paula,

I have no personal experience with the E-Z load racks. However, I remember reading some messages about them on a board somewhere (can't find it now, of course) that suggested the actual "lift" provided by the rack is quite marginal. So, not sure how effective they might be.

Anyway, my own solution for getting the boat on top of a Cherokee is cradles in front and the Thule slider-thingies (can't remember what they're really called) in the rear. They work OK but rollers would probably work better. Anyway, placing a towel on the roof behind the sliders, I just place the bow on the towel and shove the boat up from the rear until the bow is settled in the front cradle. Removal is simply the reverse. I've seen many folks using this general setup with pretty good results.

Other approaches might include using just cradles with an extension bar on the front crossbar that you slide the bow up on then lift the stern into the rear cradle. Might be a bit tougher to finesse than the cradle/rollers setup.

Best bet would be to check out what everyone else is doing at the put-in and figure out which might work best with your boat/vehicle combination.

Good luck!

Guest guest

Hi Paula,