Great time at Mystic and a word of caution

Gillian

Went to my first lake practice last night and it was a BLAST. Thanks to David for organizing!!!! It's definitely a great forum for practicing skills . . . Peter took some time showing me a high brace which I started practicing . . . the goal will be to try to get the elbow in the water (or is it shoulder for 3* assessment??) and make it up without flipping next time :)

I got to try my first hand of god rescue on Peter which in practice is actually a lot of fun . . . the first time I blew it . . . I tried to just use one arm to grab the coaming. Peter of course can hold his breath for an inordinate amount of time so it took awhile before he realized that I wasn't getting him up . . . I banged on the bottom of his boat as I had lost my paddle and was floating away . . . it made me realize we should probably have had a signal agreed upon to come on out of the boat, before I tried it. The second time I leaned all the way over and used my body and boat to help me swing him upwards and it was a little awkward but I got him up. Now when Jason practiced his hand of god on me it was like a roller coaster ride - that guy is strong!!! Thanks Jason!!! I thought it would be an imposition to ask him to do it again and again and again . . .

I unfortuantely still have half a roll but got the sweep right last night, just lifted the head . . . did a couple cowboy re-entries and Kevin even got Julia out of her boat!!!!! Kevin did about a hundred rolls until he actually made himself dizzy I hear - we're still wondering if that's perhaps from the motion or water in the ear or a combination of both?