Tuliks are....Silly?

Guest guest

Guest guest

I'm a newbie and was out to a pond on the Cape this weekend. There was a paddler wearing an outfit that looked like a cross between a man-sized trash bag and tutu. It was made of neoprene and had a hood. He was rolling left and right, and even paddled his boat upside down a while. He was using a Greenland paddle.

When I asked him, he told me the outfit he was wearing is called a "tulik", which he pronounced as "too-leek." To me the get-up looked both silly but dangerous. How do you deal with all that floating skirt material when you capsize and wet-eixt. And it looked like he was awful hot.

Anyways, he said that these tuliks are the latest thing and that I should get one. I already have a neoprene wetsuit and nylon spray skirt. Should I get a tulik? What's supposed to be so great about it?

I thought the Greenland paddle he was using looked cool though! And to be able to paddle your boat upside down....even cooler.

Guest guest

He was a "silly" man. To say that tuiliq is the "latest" when in fact it is among the oldest kayak equipment. Oh well... just another cult follower. :)

sing

Guest guest