charles river

sashurlow

Hey all,

I'm new to Boston and would like to know what the possiblities of the charles river are. I love to paddle slow meandering rivers and have good endurance. How much of the river can be paddled in one day and where are the put ins? I guess secondarily is anyone interested in doing a marathon paddle down the charles? I have no clue the possible dates of such a trip as unpacking the apartment and getting settled into work are much higher priorities right now.

Are there any other good rivers to paddle (mystic?)?

Thanks,

Scott

There are many sections of the Charles that are eminently paddleable. I believe the Charles River Canoe & Kayak sells a guide to the river... available elsewhere too. CRCK is generally a good resource, as they are smack in the middle of a 7-mile stretch between the Watertown dam and one of the Wellesley dams. But there are many other sections, including the heart of Cambridge/Boston, from Eliot Bridge, say, to the dam under the Museum of Science, and thence to the harbor, and sections farther inland.

The Mystic can be paddled form Lower Mystic Lake all the way to the Amelia Earhart Dam, and through that into the harbor by a different route than the Charles. Some parts of that are very beautiful, and some not so.

Besides that, there's the Concord (part quiet, part class V), the Ipswich (scenic and quiet), the Merrimack and lots of others. These vary in scenic beauty and some have significant current, particularly the Merrimack, the mouth of which is actually considered a rough water play and training area, depending on the tide.

Check the NSPN put-ins and those at Boston Sea Kayak Club (BSKC.org).

--David.

how easy is it to portage around the dams?

I would be nice to do an point to point route, starting at one corner of boston and finnishing in the harbor.

Thanks for the info. While I will definately paddle in the ocean, that can wait a little bit.

Scott

>how easy is it to portage around the dams?