Kayak Sun Screen?

jason

Does anybody know of a sun screen that you can put on your face, is water proof and doesn't hurt your eyes when you sweet?

Every time I go out these days I end up sun screen in my eyes burning them. Please let me know of a better sun screen.

Thanks -Jason

Hi Jason;

I have been using Coopertone Sport for a few years. It is waterproof and sweatproof. I play tennis during the summer and it never runs into my eyes nor do I need to reapply. So far it has worked fine for paddling also (kinda new to this sport...) Comes in an easy to use blue container.

Brian

After applying sunscreen, I make a pass over my forehead with my palm or back of my wrist to thin it out. Since doing that, I've almost never experienced suncreen in my eyes.

I figure that my forehead doesn't need quite as much protection, being under the brim of my hat and subject mostly to reflected sun, whereas the rest of my face gets both direct and reflected sun.

But to address your original question, I like Aloe Gator Gel from REI (and maybe elsewhere). It's considerably stiffer, more viscous than the creams that most brands use, and really sticks to your skin. I think it's less likely to run when hot or wet, but I don't know if it's inherently gentler on the eyes, since the above trick generally prevents it from even getting there.

http://tinyurl.com/fzcmg

--David

I second this! The spray on kind (I'm a fair redhead and ignore the spray and just pour it on) has been 100% effective preventing sunburn. Plus it's a liquid and doesn't make your hands slip on the paddle, even when re-applied at a lunch break. I found it to be most effective when applied at home before heading to the put in.

Be sure to get the liquid, and not to buy generic (I buy generic everything when available). I got a terrible sunburn after buying a store-brand that looked just like the Coppertone.

Lyn

>Hi Jason;

>

>I have been using Coopertone Sport for a few years. It is