newbie question

bazzert

Hi

I'm a total newbie; just took a class at Osprey kayak in Westport saturday; and then tooled around on a rented kayak on sunday at Charles river canoe. Totally hooked!

I would appreciate some suggestions on boats for a tall person (I'm 6'5", 250lbs). On sunday I had a perception eclipse 17 which seemed very comfortable (although difficult to track without the rudder, but I'll put that down to inexperience).

thanks,

Barry.

Long list of boats you should fit in, all have skegs, no rudders

VCP Aquila

VCP Aquanaut HV/Argonaut

Impex Assateague

Impex Force 5

WS Tempest 180

Boreal Fjord (glass or plastic)

P&H Capella 17'9"

P&H Quest

Kajak Sport Viviane

Necky Chatham 18

Nigel Foster Shadow

The list of boats with rudders is incomplete, as I'm not fond of rudders

Seda Glider

Perception Eclipse

North West Discover XL, Pursuit XL

Current Designs Expedition, Titan

Also check out www.kayakplace.com lots of good advice for larger folk

Michael, thanks for the list and the link. very useful! On the topic of rudders I rented an eclipse on the Charles on sunday and initially went out without the rudder deployed. It may have been a factor of the current (which was quite strong sunday after the heavy rain) and/or wind and it may have been my inexperience, but I found that I would paddle for a bit and then it would skew to the left mostly and then no matter how hard I swept on the left it would skew around almost broadside. This was really frustrating. Only when I deployed the rudder could I get it to track straight. I would appreciate your thougths/advice on this. I plan to take another class or two and go on some guided tours.

thanks,

Barry.

Barry,