Salem Sound SNG Friday 1/11

Kevin B (RPS Coach)

QUOTE(Kevin B @ Jan 9 2008, 05:30 PM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
Short paddle if anyone is interested. Usual SNG rules apply. Great for those who haven't been out winter paddling before and want to paddle a short amount of time.

Hello Kevin,

I'm new to the NSPN. I registered and purchased a family membership today.

I have no experience paddling in very cold weather. My wife and I have more than a year of experience with coastal sea kayaking and I've had a safety course. I was hooked on it they very first time I was in the swell.

You seem pretty active in this organization and you have a lot of experience too. I’m looking for some hard core paddlers that I can practice with in the winter and can go out on the weekdays. Most of the time on weekends or vacations in the warm weather we do trips along the coast between anywhere between Worlds End, MA and Bar Harbor, ME., but I’d love today do more challenging day trips without my wife in higher seas and winds and colder temps on weekdays. I’m also looking forward to learning how to launch and land through the surf.

I’m also very interested in BCU or ACA certification courses and I hope I can find out more about were they are offered and what to take. I would also consider private lessons and practicing in a pool this winter would be great, but I’ve procrastinated about doing some research and trying to make some contacts to further my ability in the sport until today.

Also can you recommend a good dry suit and a place to purchase it? I imagine that if I subscribe to this and/or others boards I'll hear about winter trips. I'd consider going out around Salem tomorrow if I could cop a dry suit that quickly but we are due for about 1/2 in of rain. I’m not that hard core, YET.

Thanks,

Sid Cohen

Sid,

Welcome!