Wetsuit Poll: Sleeves or no sleeves?

I'm interested in buying a wetsuit. I want to get something that I'll get the most mileage out of this year. There are two that I think will fit me (2 different retailers). One has long sleeves and one has no sleeves (but does have a "relief zipper").

I'm a beginner and want to start taking classes and going to lake sessions as soon as possible, & don't want to freeze when learning rolls, etc.

I can see how a shortie would prevent excessive sweating under a spray skirt, but I would think I wouldn't like that for wet exits right away. When it really does get warm, I'm thinking I may do without a wet suit this year. So I guess I'm thinking a full size one for the colder water, but not sure about the sleeves.

Which would be the best investment for now?

Appreciate your help!

Heidi

Heidi,

Sleeves/no sleeves are a personal preference, although most I paddle with seem to have the sleeveless version. You can always layer if necessary to obtain the sleeves when you want to. As for the relief zip, I would say it's a must.

>One has long sleeves and one has no sleeves (but does have a

>"relief zipper").

A relief zipper is a feature, not a requirement for a wet suit (for a dry suit you don't want to disrobe to commune with nature - most think a relief zipper is a requirement though there are those who wear adult diapers). Many flush their wet suits, you'll see them wandering off the beach at a break. Those of the female persuasion have trained themselves to use one of the variations on the freshette (sp?), otherwise the relief zipper is of no use to them/you.

>I'm a beginner and want to start taking classes and going to

>lake sessions as soon as possible, & don't want to freeze

>when learning rolls, etc.

>I can see how a shortie would prevent excessive sweating

>under a spray skirt, but I would think I wouldn't like that

>for wet exits right away.

>

>When it really does get warm, I'm