Interesting new Icom radio

Brian Nystrom

Icom has come out with a new model called the M72. It's about the same size and shape as the M1V, but has some new features. Those of particular interest to kayakers are:

- Better waterproofing (IPX8 = 30 minutes at 1.5 meters)

- Higher volume audio

- "AquaQuake", which clears water from the speaker automatically.

- A "street" price of under $200.

I have no experience with this radio yet, but given its feature set and Icom's proven reliability, it has the potential to be the ideal kayaker's radio.

Here's a link to a PDF with more information:

http://icomamerica.com/brochures/ic-m72.pdf

>- Better waterproofing (IPX8 = 30 minutes at 1.5 meters)

I must confess to being confused by the various IPX waterproof standards.

IPX7 is a standard that states the unit must be functional after submersion while IPX8 was a standard for units to be functional while submerged which is not all that important for a radio since RF isn't going far underwater. Add to the mix that IPX6 is a standard involving equipment being subjected to strong jets of water under considerable pressure for a specificed period of time. I have seen it argured that IPX6 is a higher functional standard than either IPX7 or IPX8 given the conditions of the test, but I have never seen an authoritative explanation. It is also not clear to me that a IPX7 or 8 device would also pass an IPX6 test, but for kayakers a device that would pass both seems a desired goal.

Ed Lawson

Well, you've touched on something that is definitely applicable to our use of radios. It seems pretty obvious from the number of failures that some of us have experienced with certain radios that IPX-7 (a.k.a. JIS-7*) radios do not necessarily meet IPX-6 standards.

IPX-6 is a dynamic test, in that the radio is forcefully sprayed with water, which causes transient, localized high pressures.