Escape to Maine-Q20 #1-Cape Small to Fort Popham, 7.6

gyork

Skip report; go straight to slideshow

Not known as a popular paddling route, at least to me, the coastline from Head beach, Phippsburg to Fort Popham looked quite appealing, as shown by the satellite images of Cape Small, with at least seven visible large and small sandy beaches.
CapeSmall.png.2048a1b71b0bcdd5924a2df9ba87c968.png

Word on the street was that Barry was vacationing nearby, and was game for a day trip. As a Massachusetts resident, I fretted that he would be “carded“ at the campground entrance gate, likely without evidence of a previous negative COVID test, and might be fined. Turns out he was only a few miles away, seaside, and would just paddle to meet us in the morning. Cath, Kyle, and I gathered at the beach at 0845, And Barry arrived at 0920.

I had kept an eye on the weather forecast, and decided this would be a fine day (light wind, favorable tides, and sunny skies).

We paddled leisurely around the Cape, confirming the exquisite large, small, and tiny, pocket beaches along the shore.

IMGP0415.thumb.JPG.4e4c36bd97d0867c1c8014d48b4f86b3.JPG   IMGP0417.thumb.JPG.b7696fe96cd6fb28f4e79e4f69b411c8.JPG   IMGP0421.thumb.JPG.53a55330b6b10ca34a274c23a0216920.JPG

At length, we straight-lined to tiny Heron island, where Cath, with local knowledge, indicated we could find a beautiful, narrow slot to paddle through. Sure enough, on a second look, a tiny gap opened between the cliffy walls to reveal a slot through to the other side, which we enjoyed immensely, so much so that we would repeat the passage on the way back home.

186603902_HeronIs.png.6816145b06267bb9692364fdfc2f099b.png   IMGP0441.thumb.JPG.b28f2055b200f4090506dcba73bc8d6c.JPG   IMGP0425.thumb.JPG.f00e3ced85354acd06d65b275e9dd0d1.JPG