Cape Ann put-ins status regarding resident-only or other restrictions

Ray Sims

Hi,  I'm a Wenham resident and plan to kayak tomorrow, 18 June, somewhere on Cape Ann. I'm looking for current status for put-ins.
On Friday 22 May when we last visited, Pavilion Beach in Ipswich and the Essex boat ramp were temporarily restricted to Ipswich and Essex residents respectively due to Covid.
If the above still aren't available to me, I'm considering Corliss Landing, Long Wharf Landing, or Lanes Cove in Gloucester.
I've checked the three town websites and couldn't find the desired information.

Has anyone recently put-in at any of the above locations as a non-resident? Any recommendations for tomorrow? 

Thanks

I <am> a resident of Gloucester and can tell you that I put in, yesterday, at Pavilion Beach opposite the Greasy Pole -- and no one was checking.  There were plenty of beach-users (quite probably leaving behind their cookie-wrappers and their cigarette ends in the sand...)

Long Wharf in Gloucester is open and free to all and I've paddled there two weeks ago.  I am sorry to hear that Essex is getting all town-meeting paranoid and exclusive, but it's their right to be exclusive with their city land.  I want to remark that Conomo Point is also closed for parking unless you are an Essex resident -- see the other thread on this board about the Essex Bay topic.

Respectfully, there are other rationales beyond "getting all town-meeting paranoid and exclusive."    The seasonal influx of tourists, combined with the  current and significant public health considerations, the decisions of a small town are many and complex. Cheers!

Greetings Midtempo!

Thanks for keeping the conversation going.

In my opinion, one of the challenges of managing the pandemic and tailoring the  response by locale is the resulting confusion.  I get that and frankly find it  very tough to manage at times.