Cohasset - Saturday June 4

cfolster

Launch from Cohasset Harbor 11am

Paddle to Minot Light

Paddle to Little Harbor and play in the ebb for a couple hours

Back to launch around 4 or so

Open to early dinner afterwards

Level 3/4 due to current and distance from landing location

Please post here if you're interested.  Need at least 2 other people to go.

Notes:

• High Tide Cohasset Harbor: 11:13am
  • Be prepared to drop your gear at the launch and move your car a short distance away and walk back
  • Playing in the ebb means approx. 3 or 4 knot current (does anyone know how fast it is?) with a small to medium wave(s)
  • There is no landing at Minot light (approx. 1.8 miles offshore)

Wear neoprene (saving the drysuit for your trip) and borrow a helmet and pfd (I can loan you the pfd).  That way there's nothing to wash (except footwear).

Count me in. I'm new to NSPN, so I should describe my experience level. I have been paddling for about 20 years, class I-V white water, I paddle my Necky Elaho mostly on the Charles River 3 to 4 times/week averaging 4.5 to 5.2 mph for 4-6 miles, so paddling the distance in the conditions you describe is no problem. I have a very solid roll.

Welcome to NSPN Chuck!  We now have enough for the trip - so it is a go  Others are still welcome to join.  Looking forward to paddling with everyone!  Please email your float plan information (name, cell, boat model and color, car model and plate, emergency contact name and phone) to me at:       cathy   folster    at    Verizon   dot net

I will finalize the float plan late Friday afternoon and email it to everyone.

A few more notes:

• This is a CAM trip, so we will paddle together and work together as a group.
  • The buoys indicate 56 to 60 water temps in that area (I've not yet been down there this year), so it's not bad, but still cool.  It's going to be partly sunny in the low 70's, so dress accordingly. 
  • Helmets are required in the current at little harbor.

Hi Cathy-